The Astrological Signs

1. Introduction

The 12 signs are equal divisions of the zodiac which together describe the entire cycle of human experience, analogous to that of the changing seasons. Individually each sign embodies a principle, has a distinct meaning and rules a range of psychological moods, types of behavior and physical objects. These form the foundation of astrological interpretation.
-- Nicholas Campion, The Practical Astrologer (1987)

Each sign must be considered as a sheath or body for the planet, as a principle, to function through. 
- Alan Leo (1911)

In this section we will explore the meaning of the astrological zodiac and how the signs are organized by polarity, element and mode of action.

The Signs